Spirit Awards: ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ Takes Best Feature, Dominates Top Film Prizes; ‘The Bear’, Quinta Brunson Score In TV – Full Winners List


The Film Independent Spirit Awards selected A24’s Everything Everywhere All at Once as its Best Feature on Saturday to culminate its 38th edition, one of seven wins for the metaverse-set pic that solidifies its frontrunner status in one of the last major awards stops ahead of March 12’s Academy Awards.

Everything, which had a leading eight nominations coming into the daytime ceremony on the beach at the Santa Monica Pier, also scored wins for Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu in the awards’ inaugural gender-neutral performance categories across film and TV. The film also won for The Daniels’ directing and screenplay, and for Paul Rogers’ editing.

Ke Huy Quan, Michelle Yeoh and Daniel Scheinert on SaturdayMichael Buckner

Four of the five gender-neutral categories were won by women today.

Among the 19 film and TV categories up for grabs were three pics that are also in the Oscar Best Picture Race: Everything, Focus Features’ Tár and Orion/United Artists Releasing’s Women TalkingTár won for Florian Hoffmeister’s cinematography, while Women Talking was honored with Film Independent’s Robert Altman Award given to a film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast.

Other film-side winners today included Best First Film to Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun, which along with the Everything haul gave distributor A24 a leading eight wins on the day; Best First Screenplay to John Patton Ford for Emily the Criminal, Venice Golden Lion winner All the Beauty and the Bloodshed for Best Documentary, and Pakistan’s Joyland for Best International Film.

Quinta BrunsonGetty Images

On the TV side of things, FX’s The Bear won Best New Scripted Series, with co-star Ayo Edebiri scoring for Best Supporting Performance. Abbott Elementary‘s Quinta Brunson picked up another win this TV awards season with the Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series honor.

Apple TV+’s Pachinko won the Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series award.

FX was the only TV platform to win more than once at today’s ceremony, hosted by Hasan Minhaj.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Feature

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance

Michelle Yeoh
Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Quinta Brunson
Abbott Elementary

Best Director

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All at Once

John Cassavetes Award

The Cathedral
Writer/Director: Ricky D’Ambrose
Producer: Graham Swon

Best First Feature

Director: Charlotte Wells
Producers: Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski

Robert Altman Award

Women Talking
Director: Sarah Polley
Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight
Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Award

Tory Lenosky

Best Breakthrough Performance

Stephanie Hsu
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Someone To Watch Award

Nikyatu Jusu

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister

Best Editing

Paul Rogers
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

The Rehearsal
Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder
Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith
Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola

Truer Than Fiction Award

Reid Davenport
I Didn’t See You There

Best New Scripted Series

The Bear
Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer
Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai
Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Best Screenplay

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best First Screenplay

John Patton Ford
Emily the Criminal

Best International Film

Director: Saim Sadiq

Best Supporting Performance In a New Scripted Series

Ayo Edebiri
The Bear

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Director/Producer: Laura Poitras
Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons

Best Supporting Performance (Film)

Ke Huy Quan
Everything Everywhere All at Once


A24 – 8
FX – 2
ABC – 1
Amazon Studios – 1
Apple TV+ – 1
Focus Features – 1
HBO/HBO Max – 1
Mubi – 1
Neon – 1
Orion/United Artists Releasing – 1
Oscilloscope – 1
POV – 1
Roadside Attractions/Vertical Entertainment – 1

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post